Fellowships & Awards


The Jack Boozer Fund and the Hermann and Janet Noether Fund

The late Jack Boozer was a distinguished member of the Emory Department of Religion. In addition to being an award-winning teacher of Christian theology and ethics, Professor Boozer was active in racially integrating the University, in establishing the Jay and Leslie Cohen Chair of Judaic Studies, in founding University Worship, in organizing the program in ethics in the School of Medicine, in the arts on campus, and protecting the rights of minorities in our community.

Upon Professor Boozer's retirement in 1987, the Jack Boozer Fund was established to support students pursuing study and/or involvement in the area of religious ethics and community service.


Theta Alpha Kappa

Theta Alpha Kappa is a national honor society in the field of Religious Studies and Theology. Majors may be invited for induction into the society if they have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 and meet other requirements such as college class ranking and number of credits in religion courses. The society honors students who have shown excellence of achievement and promise of continued growth in the disciplines of Religious Studies and Theology.

The society encourages research, good teaching, publication, and an intellectual and social exchange among students, teachers and writers of the discipline. The Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa invites students to submit papers for publication.


Other Awards

William A. Beardslee Prize

The William A. Beardslee Prize in Religious Literature, given annually, which honors the contributions of William A. Beardslee, Professor Emeritus of New Testament, is for the best paper submitted about religion in a course offered by the College.

Paul B. Courtright Prize

The Paul B. Courtright Prize is awarded annually for overall excellence among majors in the Department.

John Fenton Prizes

The John Fenton Prizes in the Comparative Study of Religion, given annually, this fund will support two prizes, at a graduate and undergraduate level, in the comparative study of religions. The prizes will be awarded to those students whose work represents the best in the comparative study of religions: rigor, textual or ethnographic depth, and innovation in comparative work.

Eugene Bianchi Prize

The Eugene Bianchi Prize in Religion is awarded each year to an undergraduate Religion major who demonstrates outstanding service to the community in a way that integrates his or her studies in religion with a commitment to engaged scholarship. Nominations will be submitted by Religion faculty.